Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.0
 Rooms  3.2
 Cleanliness  3.2
 Location  3.6
 Security & Safety  3.4
 Service & Staff  2.4
 Food / Dining  3.2
 Total  3.2

"Nice Location"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   Kay D. of NY, United States
Reviewed:   May 17, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   May 2009     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The hotel was in a nice location in Venice, very clean and safe. It is recommended that you know how to speak Italian at this place though since the staff doesn't speak much English.

"Al Gallo .........terrible experience! Rude customer service +"

User Rating:  1.5
Reviewer:   Dennis B. of Agoura Hills, United States
Reviewed:   May 12, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Italyinstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2008     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We booked through this booking site.....and whether it was the booking site or the hotel, the Al Gallo, we had a terrible experience! We booked for 4 people and upon arrival were met with a VERY angry, unprofessional owner (?) who insulted us over and over, insisted we made the mistake on our end, insisted that 2 double beds in rooms didn't exist in Italy (obviously untrue as the hotel we booked later that night had those available), yelled at us (unbelievable, right? But it happened!) AND yelled at us to "Get out!" when we were unwilling for only 2 of us to stay when we had contracted clearly for 4 of us! (we frankly didn't feel safe there at that point!). Anyway, horrible customer service.....maybe it was the booking site that made the first mistake......it could've been handled with kindness. But Rudeness is how it WAS handled and our advice is..... when it Venice Italy AVOID Al Gallo at all costs!!

"Small and good"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Lars H. of Uppsala, Sweden
Reviewed:   January 1, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   October 2007     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Nice and small hotel. Well located for people starting a cruise from the harbour. For newcomers is it difficult to find the nearest way from Piazzale Roma. For old and not so strong people is it hard to climb the narrow stairs.

"Pleasant stay at Al Gallo"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   Pernilla J. of Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed:   August 14, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2007     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Al Gallo was a very nice little hotel in Venice. Nice and hospitality people .
We can warmly recommend to stay at Al Gallo.

"Mala experiencia"

User Rating:  3.0
Reviewer:   Maria Luisa C. of Antiguo Cuscatlan, El Salvador
Reviewed:   July 12, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2007     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (Espanol-Spanish):
A pesar de que teniamos confirmada la reservacion por 2 noches desde el 31 de Mayo, al llegar al hotel el 28 de Junio nos dijeron que solo nos podian dar una noche por que estaban llenos, que ellos no eran responsables por las reservaciones hechas en Internet.


1 - 5 of 5 reviews




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us