Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.0
 Rooms  4.1
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.3
 Security & Safety  4.3
 Service & Staff  4.3
 Food / Dining  3.6
 Total  4.2

"pls dont stay"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Ksr Z. of zrûrich, Switzerland
Reviewed:   December 22, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   November 2010     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
the person who runs the hostel Andreais a rubbish guy. never cares abt the visitors.
No respect for the visitors. Doesnt help or respond. Poor Hospitality. Ple avoind stay here.

"Albergo Giovanna nel Cuore di Firenze, Italia"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Alex H. of Philadelphia, United States
Reviewed:   October 21, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Europeinstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
If you're looking for a budget pensione in Florence (Firenze) that is clean, affordable and only a block from la Stazione Santa Maria Novella, Albergo Giovanna is a good bet. The hostess who oversees the pensione is very nice. She doesn't speak much English or Spanish, which can be challenging for those who haven’t studied Italian. But I welcomed the opportunity to practice my Italian with her, and the Florence accent is very easy to understand if one speaks basic or intermediate Italian.

Si esta buscando una pensión limpia y barata en la hermosa ciudad de Florencia (Firenze), Italia, recommiendo Albergo Giovanna (es acerca de la Estacíon Santa Maria Novella en el corazón de Florencia). La gerente de la pensión es muy simpatica. Ella no habla mucho inglés o mucho español, pero eso no fue un problema para mi porque yo quería practicar hablando en italiano--y además, es facil entender el acento de Florencia si alguien haya estudiado italiano.

"Home away from home in Florence."

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Nina D. of Berkeley, United States
Reviewed:   October 15, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We stayed at Albergo Giovanni in Florence. We were generally pleased with the price. The room was small, and four flights up, but with a big window and the bed was fine. Giovanna, the hostess or innkeeper, was extremely gracious and helpful. It was very hot in Florence when we were there.Certainly not the fault of the hotel, but we wished we had air conditioning.
The location is excellent! It is near the train station, and near to the Duomo and other sights.

"Albergo Giovanna"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Lisa W. of Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed:   October 8, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   September 2008     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Giovanna is a lovely woman, who runs a really clean hostel. The room we had was quiet and the apartment is close to the main Firenze station. It is a bit of a climb up the stairs but that is Italy for you!
I think the rate was really reasonable and Giovanna was delightful.

"Good value, convenient location, and very clean"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Alison P. of Oshkosh, WI, United States
Reviewed:   March 7, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2007     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
After living in my own apartment in Florence for a month, this hostel was a welcome change. It was very, very clean and a great value. Close walking distance to the Santa Maria Novella train station and relatively close to the Duomo, San Lorenzo, and the city center.

Though it's not in the safest part of Florence, like any place near the train station, I had no problems with security. However, I noticed that the passports were kept in a kitchen drawer rather than a safe. Also, the innkeeper does not accept credit cards despite saying so on the website. I had to find an ATM late at night in order to pay for my stay...make sure you have cash when you're checking out.

I didn't eat at Albergo Giovanna but there are numerous close places to grab pizza and gelato. Plus the Irish pub Fiddler's Elbow is about 5 minutes away for great atmosphere and cheap drinks.

"Great Place"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Caio C. of Poitiers, France
Reviewed:   August 29, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2007     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I had a wonderful time In Venice partly because I was staying at Albergo Giovanna. The place was very clean and my room was actually better than the description on the website. The owner, a very friendly Romanian lady was very helpful. Don't think you can get anything better for the price.

"GREAT!!"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Diana R. of Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed:   August 18, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2007     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Excellent price, excellent location downtown Florence near the main train station Santa Maria Novella, direct bus to other big train station Firenze Campo di Marte. Very clean, nice lady, I recommend!


1 - 7 of 7 reviews




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us