Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.8
 Rooms  5.0
 Cleanliness  5.0
 Location  4.3
 Security & Safety  5.0
 Service & Staff  5.0
 Food / Dining  5.0
 Total  4.8

"Loved staying at Bay Tree House B & B"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Barbara G. of Sydney, NSW, Australia
Reviewed:   November 4, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   October 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Mike and I were delighted with our two days here. Janice and James were warm and welcoming and great fun. Breakfast was a highlight - and an opportunity to swap stories with the other guests.
We would totally recommend this B&B.

"Outstanding"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jacques And Dina H. of Tivon, Israel
Reviewed:   October 1, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
English vocabulary is not rich enough to describe our (short) stay with James and Janice! Perfect location & surroundings, hosts conviviality and warmth, breakfast as never seen before : in short, a memorable London experience ...Cannot wait to come back !!

"Absolutely the first B&B in Londo"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Anthony C. of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Reviewed:   April 23, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Ukinstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I had a four nights stay there on my own after the trip to Eastern Europe. This was the first time I stay in a B&B, but PJ, Breda, James and Janice are so nice that they made me feel like home. The room and bathroom are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is alwasy freshly prepared. Most importantly, they always offer you help when you are in need, like buying me a Oyster card for easier and cheaper travel, sending postcards for me, even adding WT14 to the wheels of my luggage to make it smooth. How gracious they are. Being alone in this trip, the chat with them made me feel like I was not really alone there. Everytime when I was back, just feel like back to home. I am sure that if I am going to London again, the stay in Bay tree house must be my first choice!

"Ottima permanenza"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Beatrice B. of milano, Italy
Reviewed:   November 15, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Fantastica location, molto tipica: belle le camere e i bagni, molto curato e soprattutto pulitissimo.
Colazioni abbondanti con scelta vastissima, accoglienza calorosa.
Unico neo: la distanza dal centro (sebbene la metro sia a 5 min a piedi il tragitto è di 30 minuti...).

"romantic little nest"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Samar B. of beirut, Lebanon
Reviewed:   November 2, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
What a fabulous place this was. I had become so disillusioned with Bed and Breakfasts in London that I didn't believe the reviews that I read about Bay Tree House. But the rooms, the food, the hospitality and warmth of Janice and James...the calmness and serenity of the place, the soft rain falling on the glassed terrace strewn with all my favorite novels, the housekeeper who comes and says "dear, don't leave without an umbrella!"' I ended up taking an umbrella just to make her happy. I can't think of anything negative to say about the place except: book early on!! And make sure you plan your trip so that you have some time to chat with James and Janice. And please, don't spead the news!!

"Wonderful London B&B Solution"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Marco S. of Bologna, Italy
Reviewed:   October 18, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We went in London for a week end holiday for our first time. We were worried about accomodation in order to find a clean and well positioned solution in order to visit London without loosing much time in traveling. Bay Tree House B&B was perfect:
- Clean and nice
- Fantastic Bathroom
- Polite and kind (there was always a cup of tea with cookies ready for us, they suggested us the best way for going around)
- Good cooking
- It's not near London but you arrive in centre of London with only one subway Line without change...

We surely will suggest it for all our friends who want to do the same holiday, and we'll return there in our next visit surely too.
Many thanks to Bay Tree House B&B governor.

Marco

"Comfort and hospitality abound at Bay Tree"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Andrea H. of New York, New York, United States
Reviewed:   September 7, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Londoninstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2008     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Our stay at Bay Tree House was wonderful because hosts James and Janice provide all the comforts of home while graciously dispensing expert advice on London sites, sometimes accompanied by coupons for discount admissions. As we left each morning, after a sumptuous breakfast, James always ensured that we had bottled water. (During evening chats, he also ensured that Andrew had adequately sampled the ENGLAND's finest ales.) When Janice noticed that our daughter was particularly taken with Mark and Spencer mallomars, she procured an ample supply for the flight home. Our triple room was nicely appointed, the beds comfortable, and the shower terrific. The neighborhood is quiet and relaxing. We enjoyed our walks to the nearby tube stop. James and Janice warmly introduce guests to each other and clearly enjoy maintaining the hospitality that thrives in their B &B.

"The Best!!!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Diora H. of Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed:   August 31, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We first discovered Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast after some research on the web during our planning stages for our trip to London.

The reviews we read sounded really great and now that we have been through the experience Baytree, all the rave reviews have been nothing short of accurate!

The lovely couple James and Janice, are the nicest and most gracious people we can ever hope to meet! The moment we arrived, they were at the front patio waiting for us. They offered us coffee, tea or beer once we've settled into our very comfortable and delightful room. The room was very clean with an attached bath with electric hot water and the bed sheets were immaculate.

The location of the B&B, though slightly away from the London city centre, is actually very convenient. Located in a quiet and pleasant suburb in New Southgate, a walk up a short hill will bring you to the Arnos Grove Underground Station that plies along the Picadilly Line and that gets you practically anywhere you'd like as a tourist in London.

At the top of that hill where the station is, there are interesting eateries. There's a Chinese takeaway; Mid-Eastern Kebabs, a great Fish & Chips place and an "Open till Late" convenient store.

James & Janice got our Oyster Passes the moment we arrived and this really helped us alot in getting around London. They were very helpful in also suggesting for us place to visit in London via email even before we left Singapore for Europe and they briefed us even further when we arrived.

James especially is a great conversationalist. Full of knowledge and humor. He has a great collection of books in his beautiful conservatory overlooking a very pleasant garden. We are allowed to borrow any of his books from his library and it is very welcoming to relax in the conservatory for a good read and biscuits and chocolates are always available there.

Breakfast is to die for! Janice has a selection of cereals, muffins, pancakes and breads all over the counter for our picking. We also enjoyed their selection of cooked breakfast which includes English Breakfst with fried or scrambled eggs. There's porridge or french toast.

She also has a fine selection of maple syrup and other kinds of syrup for our pancakes. If there's anything we look forward to everyday, is to wake up for this smorgasbord of great food offerings!

So for anyone who is looking for a great place to stay in London, please give Bay Tree House a shot! We promise you, you will not regret it. The only thing you would probably regret is leaving.

Chris & Diora Henson
Singapore

"Absolut geniale B&B Unterkunft"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Uwe R. of Leipzig, Germany
Reviewed:   July 30, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Ukinstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2008     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (Deutsch-German):
Absolut geniale B&B Unterkunft in urgemütlichem englischem Reihenhaus
tolle geschmackvoll eingerichtete Zimmer (wir habe 2 der 3 selber kennen gelernt)
gemeinsames Frühstückszimmer im Kaminzimmer,
Wintergarten und Garten hinter dem Haus - eigentlich benötigt man Londons Attraktionen gar nicht ...
James und Janice kümmern sich rührend im ihre Gäste
"make yourself at home" wird wirklich gelebt
das Haus incl. Küche ist für alle den ganzen Tag zugänglich - so kann jeder nach belieben seinen Tag planen
tolles Frühstücksbuffet - zusätzlich kocht Janice für alle englisches Breakfast
und - wie man es mal probieren möchte - alle denkbaren Abwandlungen davon
Gäste aus aller Welt treffen sich beim Frühstück - wir waren zusammen mit
Gästen aus - Canada - USA - UK Wales - Israel - so lernt man Leute kennen ...
nach dem Frühstück fragt Janice was heute so geplant ist und hat für alle Themen gute Tips parat
am Abend trifft man sich im Wintergarten beim Bier und erzählt vom Tag
Lage im nördlichen Vorstadtbereich Londons an ruhiger Siedlungsstraße
Tube Station Arnos Grove ist 4 min vom Haus - dort gibt es auch kleine Läden, ATM usw.
Tube Picadelli Line bringt einen jederzeit in max. 30 min zum Covend Garden, Picadelli Circus usw.
nach dem Gewühl in der Londoner Innenstadt immer eine Oase der Ruhe und Entspannung
das ist nict zu toppen - deshalb volle Punktzahl

"Very Nice B&B"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Jennell L. of Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed:   July 4, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We stayed in the annex and it was lovely!


1 - 10 of 11 reviews  Next 1 result




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us