Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.6
 Rooms  3.4
 Cleanliness  3.4
 Location  3.2
 Security & Safety  3.2
 Service & Staff  4.0
 Food / Dining  2.8
 Total  3.4

"Great Stay"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Kaa P. of Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewed:   October 22, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Such nice hosts, great location, perfect service, laundry possible, good info for travellers. Kitchen small but perfectly usable. Nice Cabins. A bit off the beach, but near to everything.

"Perfect Place to stay in Bahia Drake"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Wayne P. of Gananoque, ON, Canada
Reviewed:   March 1, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2015     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Johny and Gretel are great hosts. Johnny like myself is interested in photography so we had some great times viewing images of all the fabulous wildlife in the area. The cabin I stayed in was comfortable and had a good view of the Bay from my front porch. The area around the cabins is full of wild life notably the Scarlet Macaws, MotMots, green parrots that stop by in the morning and evening on their way to and from their nesting ground. Johnny was able arrange all of the tours that I wanted to take and made sure that we were on time and had what we needed to make the most of my five day stay. My only complaint was the rooster that lives across the fence almost under my porch that would crow at 4:00 am every day... not an issue with Jade Mar but one that made getting a good sleep a little bit more difficult. Sounds from nature do not bother me but roosters crowing and dogs barking tend to irritate me.
Having said all this I would definitely come back and stay at Cabinas Jade Mar again. The positives outweigh the one negative.

"Great stay, very friendly & helpful"

User Rating:  1.1
Reviewer:   Kai P. of Karlsruhe, Germany
Reviewed:   February 28, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We had a great stay at the cabinas from Gretel & Johnny! They picked us up at the beach after we arrived by boat so we didn't have to carry our luggage some 100 m uphill and even thus there were some problems with the electronic booking system, they arranged everything so we didn't have any problems at all! They were very helpful with all our questions regarding the surroundings and traveling and communication with a mixture of English and Spanish went very well. A low priced laundry service is offered, which is very good to get dry clothes in the humid region. A nice garden surrounds the rooms and cabinas, where Johnny likes to show some of the wild animals, especially birds like Aras. The kitchen was clean and functional. The surroundings are calm, even though the entrance is located near to the two supermarkets and little restaurants. All in all, we highly recommend this place, we would always come back, and thank Gretel & Johnny for the nice time!

"Ruido Infernal!"

User Rating:  2.1
Reviewer:   Alejandro M. of Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Reviewed:   January 2, 2012  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2011     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Las habitaciones no son ninguna maravilla, pero son muy económicas. El personal es muy amable. El inconveniente más bestia es que está en el centro del pueblo y hay varios bares discoteca sin ningún tipo de insonorización, abiertos hasta las 4:00 am y que pueden hacer de tu noche una pesadilla. Al final tuvimos que acampar en la playa ya que uno espera en un sitio tan maravilloso como Bahia Drake encontrar paz y relax, pero en el pueblo no lo váis a encontrar. Recomiendo que busquéis alojamiento en Bahia Drake por la zona este, es la zona más tranquila (en la zona Oeste hay otra discoteca en lo alto de la montaña en la que ponen la música muy alta también). Espero que os sirva de ayuda si buscáis tranquilidad.

"Wie immer: JADE MAR"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Thomas M. of Sauensiek, Germany
Reviewed:   January 2, 2011  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   December 2010     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Da wir bereits zum 3. Mal in Corcovado waren und immer wieder die Cabinas Jade Mar gebucht haben spricht eigentlich alles für sich selbst.
Jedenfalls: Preis/Leistung stimmen, Personal mehr als freundlich und aufgeschlossen, Cabinas sehr sauber mit Blick auf den Pacific und jede nur erdenkliche Hilfe bei Touren, Buchungen etc. Unterm Strich: immer wieder Cabinas Jade Mar


1 - 5 of 5 reviews




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us