Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.0
 Rooms  3.5
 Cleanliness  4.0
 Location  3.0
 Security & Safety  4.0
 Service & Staff  4.0
 Food / Dining  4.3
 Total  3.8

"Grand Hotel exceeds all expectations!"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   MAXINE J. of Boston, MA, United States
Reviewed:   March 23, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2009     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Amazing service, impeccable spacious rooms, perfectly located to discover the Arenal region.

"Great owners & food, however..."

User Rating:  3.5
Reviewer:   Isabel L. of Hudson, United States
Reviewed:   February 24, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The owners here were very kind and helpful. The home-cooked breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Our cinderblock room was a bit dark and, much to our dismay, the beds (all four) had an inescapeable "B.O." smell. It is a great value for only $70, even still.

"Cerro Chato Lodge is great!"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Kelly K. of Calgary, AB, Canada
Reviewed:   February 19, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
After reading everyone else's very positive reviews of Cerro Chato, we chose to stay there on our trip to Arenal. The rooms were decent, we didn't have a cabin but there was a double and a single in our room. Other than the hot water not making an appearance, the stay was fantastic. Miguel, the owner, was always there to help and even came midway through one of our tours to take us to the hotsprings early so that we could stay longer than the tour generally allowed. He arranged numerous activities for us (highly recommend the safari rafting trip and the Venado caving trip). There was also a foosball table and grounds to explore. And the best part was the price which allowed us to take in many more of the activities than we could have if we had spent more on the hotel. Great place, slightly difficult to find (ask for specific directions), and a fantastic value. Highly recommended!

"Cerro Chato - disappointing"

User Rating:  2.3
Reviewer:   Melissa H. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   January 9, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   December 2008     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Having requested a room with 2 separate beds by email a month prior, we arrived after 32 hours of travelling only to be greeted by a lady with a bad attitude, we were shown a room with one double bed which she claimed I had booked, I had the email to confirm that I had stated 2 separate beds. She then proceeded to fob us off with bunk beds!!!!! Having emailed the owner numerous times to confirm this, I was amazed it was a cock up. I said I was not staying as a bunk bed was unacceptable and asked that my card was not debited. Upon arriving in the UK, I see they have charged me, what a surprise. The rooms are very basic and it is miles out of town. Not a good location if you like popping out and about and visiting the restaurants and bars of La Fortuna. I, for one, would not recommend this lodge and there are other nice places in better locations.


1 - 4 of 4 reviews




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us