Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.5
 Rooms  4.7
 Cleanliness  4.8
 Location  4.7
 Security & Safety  5.0
 Service & Staff  5.0
 Food / Dining  4.7
 Total  4.8

"Guatefriends"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Lemay F. of Québec, Canada
Reviewed:   April 6, 2013  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2013     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Always a great and simple place to go. Very close to the airport and they offer a free pick up. The owner are very kind and friendly, always ready to help you.

François Lemay

"ok"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   K G. of co, United States
Reviewed:   July 29, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2010     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
clean,friendly, great meals + airport pickup and dropoff, once each stay.
Problems =
cost on website was wrong--they agreed to that rate and I got a private room, but private w/shared bath is supposed be more. They did charge me the higher rate when I returned, even tho I was only person there!!
No drop off for airport terminal that wasn't main terminal. that wasn't clear on site.
Taxi couldn't find address!!!

"Guate Friends closest to the Airport in Guatemala City"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Chris S. of Panajachel, Guatemala
Reviewed:   November 21, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hemispherehostels.com)
Traveled:   November 2008     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Now family friends after my 2nd visit to this wonderful couple´s Hostel. I think of more as a B&B. Owner´s either both native in or fluent in English-Spanish and take great pains to provide an excellent nest for your transit through Guatemala City. Prearranged Airport shuttle is free at all hrs and the gourmet food and wine is to be raved about. Very clean. I´ll stay nowhere else in Guate.

"EXELENTE!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Perla T. of Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Reviewed:   September 6, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   May 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (Espanol-Spanish):
Estube hospedada en este hostalito en mayo y realmente fue una experiencia super!! nunca antes habia experimentado estar en un hostal y si son como este es mejor que cualquier hotel, la verdad nuestros anfitriones Ana y su esposo nos trataron a mi esposo y a mi super bien.
Ademas no menos importante los desayunos eran fantasticos y a mi que me gusta la buena comida me parecieron super esforzados para que nos agradara a todos los hospedados tomando en cuenta que eramos de distintas culturas, el lugares super limpio y con un ambiente de tranquilidad.
Lo recomiendo ...................Perla

"Totally Awesome!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Adam S. of St. Petersburg, Florida, United States
Reviewed:   February 23, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The food is great! The hosts Joe and Ana are awesome! Hot, hot water and lots of pressure. Great rooms too! The best shower I have had in all of my travels through Central America. They gave a great tour of Guatemala City and even helped me find a place to stay with their friends in Nicaragua. Joe gave me a free room upgrade too when I was the only guest. Nice view of the volcanoes from their kitchen window. Totally awesome!!

"Brilliant!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Stephanie D. of Berkshire, England
Reviewed:   February 22, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   January 2008     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My family and I had the best stay we have ever had at a B&B/Hostel. Ana and Joe are amazingly friendly. We felt like we were with old friends. The took us on a private guided tour of Guatemala City and Antigua and we had a chance to taste some of the traditional Guatemalan foods at several of the stops we made on our tour. Joe's food is brilliant and was certainly delicious; breakfast, lunch and dinner!! We will be back! Thank you so much for such a great time!!


1 - 6 of 6 reviews




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us