Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.6
 Rooms  3.5
 Cleanliness  4.0
 Location  4.0
 Security & Safety  4.1
 Service & Staff  4.3
 Food / Dining  3.8
 Total  3.9

"Great Location but Deceptive Room Descriptions"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   M D. of CA, United States
Reviewed:   August 10, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2018     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Nice little hostel in a great location but the room advertisements as they are written on here are deceptive. I selected a 6-person dorm room and they did not specify that it was actually a 10-person room since it was combined with a 4-person room. Also, be sure to ask if the room is co-ed or single sex as they did not specify the room was co-ed on the site and that should have been made clear.

"Excellent services and excellent people!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Shannon D. of Santa Barbara CA, United States
Reviewed:   April 24, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I've only stayed at one prior hostel to staying here while I sorted things out for school and housing. The staff at Downtown DC Hostel were exceptionally customer service oriented, helped out in so many ways, and if I'm honest IHSP Santa Barbara did exactly the same. Their accommodations and how they were able to answer my questions, then turn around and have fun with all of the guests didn't phase me one but. If anything, it added to the experience. I would definitely stay here again, if money allows it right now.

"The worst hostel ever"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Jenny B. of Santa Barbara, United States
Reviewed:   April 13, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Should I warn you or let you experience the pure hell on your own?

"Does the job quite nicely :)"

User Rating:  3.6
Reviewer:   J H. of Metz, France
Reviewed:   April 4, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2018     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
A little tiny, but good place.

Beware, if you come by car, when you park: enough space but in the end of the park, there's some iron stuff from the ground which could damage your tyre (at the time I've been there, February '18).

Tiny but clean kitchen and well equipped.
Was in a "private room", was clean though a little old-looking.

"Review"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Steph M. of London, Canada
Reviewed:   April 3, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2018     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Staff were very nice and informative. Openness of everyone one was also nice.

"Very good"

User Rating:  4.2
Reviewer:   Camille F. of Montpellier, France
Reviewed:   March 27, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2018     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Trouve sur le routard et conforme aux attentes. Chambre propre. Sdb et cuisisne tres correct pour du collectif. Auberge conviviale et personnel agreable. Tres bien localisé a santa barbara surtout si vous avez une voiture. Si vpus etes sensible au bruit attention cela peut etre un peu bruyany. Pour une nuit cetait parfait pour nous. Nous avons apprecie les pancakes au petit dej.

"Hostel Good; Emails bad"

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   Vincent V. of San Diego, United States
Reviewed:   March 24, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2018     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Hostel was fine - cheap, clean, and as private as I wanted it to be (private room)

Way too many follow up emails - leave me alone.

"Great Place to stay"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Milla B. of Washington, United States
Reviewed:   March 15, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2018     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This hostel is great. It is clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is a lot to do in Santa Barbara and the hostel is in a great location.

"Great experience."

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Valmont B. of Crissier, Switzerland
Reviewed:   February 26, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2018     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The staff was really nice, free breakfast was great+ a really good wifi! It was overall a great trip.

"Fun Hostel"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Sophia W. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   February 16, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2018     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Good location, good people, a good night's sleep, and a big breakfast. Thumbs up.


1 - 10 of 202 reviews  Next 10 results




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us