Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.3
 Rooms  4.3
 Cleanliness  4.5
 Location  4.4
 Security & Safety  4.4
 Service & Staff  4.3
 Food / Dining  4.2
 Total  4.3

"Great !!"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Seb A. of Pontivy, France
Reviewed:   September 30, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Awesome place!
The staff is nice and the location is close from bars and the botanical garden!! I Recommend it &
I ll come back again!

"Nice & Friendly"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   David G. of Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed:   September 21, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2017     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Really enjoyed my stay at the Mile High Guesthouse. Friendly staff, nice rooms, cool location, great price.

"It was awesome"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Michael M. of Rhode Island Providence, United States
Reviewed:   September 15, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2017     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It was great definitely will stay there again

"Mile High Guest House"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jacob Murphy M. of Arcata, Ca, United States
Reviewed:   September 13, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I've never been to a hostel that felt like home, except for the Mile High House. It feels like your visiting all your friends back home on summer break every day! The late nights on the deck and in the garage talking and playing cards, the pub crawls and brewrey tours, and of course the morning pancakes with new friends, all make for an amzing in Denver. I will always choose the Mile High Guest House when in town.

"Exactly What I Expected"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Lars B. of New Orleans, LA, United States
Reviewed:   September 12, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2017     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I was just traveling through for the day so I chose a hostel that seemed chill, but not "too chill." Mile high definitely matched that for me. I did wrongly inform them of my change in travel plans and the manger was super accommodating, and found me a bed. Was super relieving to not find another place to stay. The front desk worker was just there for two months and wasn't very friendly. He also didn't know a lot about the area of events going on. Would have loved more information and possibly an event board. The facilities were all very clean and well kept, which was awesome. Was a little pricey for just a dorm bed and a two night minimum, but I understand it's their busy season.

"Cozy and Clean"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   David F. of Fort Atkinson, United States
Reviewed:   August 31, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2017     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very good service. Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about local places for sightseeing or eating. Only downside is how difficult it can be to get parking. On the nights we came back late from sightseeing we had to park 1 or 2 blocks over from the house. The main street with all of the businesses that are adjacent to the house (Colfax St.) can get a little sketchy, especially at night.

"Classic bait and switch"

User Rating:  2.0
Reviewer:   Joshua T. of Laurel, United States
Reviewed:   August 23, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Just to start the people at this place are very strange. Ok let's talk about the actual place. It looks great in the pics, upon check in you get too your room to realize its an empty room with no or dresser the bed was hard as a rock and had hair in it. There isn't a bathroom in the actual room but it's down the hall and shared by everyone on that floor.. on top of that there is no a.c. or fan and if your lucky you'll be able to wedge in a parking spot. Was there just long enough to find another room and asked for a refund that were compleat snobs and would only give me the last day back even though I had just paid for it.. all in all of your looking for a place to rob you and leave you too find somewhere else too stay this is the place for you though.. I ended up at the motel 6

"The Best Place!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Leah S. of Cincinnati, United States
Reviewed:   August 7, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2017     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I've traveled a decent amount and have utilized various types of accommodation, such as hotels, motels, hostels, Couchsurfing, Workaway projects, etc.. and the Mile High Guest House was the best place I have stayed at by far.

In my opinion, the price is more than reasonable for the quality of the facilities, the proximity to cool places in Denver, and (most importantly) the friendliness and engaging nature of the staff who encourage people to connect to one another. The staff host various events on a regular basis for guests to join in and meet one another (from pub crawls at local spots to preparing interesting dishes together), and in no time I was feeling part of a diverse group of like-minded people rather than spending my time relatively isolated.

The building itself is incredibly beautiful and historic, even moreso than in the photos online. Everything is very clean, too. The staff provide an abundance of information on local restaurants and attractions, and I really felt like they were excited to tell me about Denver and their favorite places instead of brushing me off or treating it as an annoyance.

The actual location is in East Colfax, which seems to have a negative reputation, but I never once felt unsafe or suspicious (and I walk alone a lot). However, I grew up in a similar area, so maybe I wasn't as concerned about safety issues. It was very easy to get bus access, too, which I depended upon a lot during my stay.

Overall, Mile High Guest House was an awesome and truly unique experience, with a very personable and inclusive atmosphere that I didn't really expect to find in American hostels!

"Staying at Mile High Guest House!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Christopher B. of Abilen, United States
Reviewed:   August 2, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The stay was amazing! We met some great people that we will never forget and the house was very beautiful and very inviting.

"Great stay"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Marshall D. of Detroit michigan, United States
Reviewed:   July 11, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very clean nice people smoke friends close to stores


1 - 10 of 27 reviews  Next 10 results




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us