Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.2
 Rooms  4.2
 Cleanliness  4.2
 Location  4.1
 Security & Safety  4.3
 Service & Staff  3.8
 Food / Dining  3.7
 Total  4.2

"A nightmare in Hvar"

User Rating:  3.0
Reviewer:   Daniel B. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   September 29, 2013  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2013     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Never ever book with instant world booking - apparently they haven't worked with villa skansi for years, which meant we "booked" 2 nights at the height of festival season only to be told on arrival that they haven't taken bookings via instantworldbooking for years and have repeatedly told them to stop advertising on the web - when we looked up the hostel the first web page was with them on yahoo.

To make matters worse, we weren't given our deposit back - between instant world and villa skansi they both disagreed who had to pay us.

In summary - villa skansi seemed like a lovely hostel, great views of beach and helpful staff. But instantworldbooking are a joke and the quicker people don't use them the better.

"Bad experience."

User Rating:  2.8
Reviewer:   Maria V. of Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed:   August 31, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2010     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We booked on March and paid 42 € for the deposit. We arrived on August and they said that the hotel was full: OVERBOOKING.
The hotel looked for us another place. We stayed in an horrible place for the same price, and I am still waiting for the deposit back.
Very bad experience. I could believe it. I don't recommend Villla Skansy.
Maria
I can't rate the categories below because I couldn't stay there, but the service was bad.

"thank you Matco and Julia"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Peter S. of sydney, Australia
Reviewed:   June 26, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   October 2009     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I never got to write till now!, I sincerely wish to thank Matco and Julia for their hospitality when i stayed there with my son, my nephew and brother in law last year.
in aLL OUR TRAVELS THROUGH eUROPE YOU REALISE IT IS THE QUALITY OF THE PEOPLE YOU MEET NOT ANYTHING ELSE THAT IS IMPORTANT

We still remember fondly their hospitality and have never managed to thank them personally because they dont have an email address.

I also have a photo of my young son holding the shells that ypour young son gave to us that i wanted to send.

Id recommend these people to anyone.

Peter Stofka

"What a treat!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Rebecca M. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   September 27, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Villa Skansi was everything we could have hoped for. Large, clean rooms and very friendly hosts. They went out of their way to help us and created a very friendly atmosphere throughout the villa. It was definite value for money and I could not recommend it more highly.

"The nicest people"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Charles P. of Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed:   September 15, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2009     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I have traveled all over europe this summer with one of my friend and this was by far one of the nicest place we stayed. Even better, the host were amazing and very cool. They will make sure that your stay is as good as you wanted to be. You can asked them anything and they are always there for you. I really recommend this place if you want to meet people and have a lot of fun. By the way, this island is like paradise!!!!

"Lovely Villa"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Chloe H. of Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed:   September 15, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2009     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed at Villa Skansi for 2 nights and was very happy with the accommodation and service. It is owned y a lovely family who were very helpful. The villa has views of the islands and is close to some secluded beaches but not far from town. Highly recommended.

"3 days in Hvar"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Matt H. of Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   August 13, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  ():
We stayed in Villa Skansi for 3 nights and had a fantastic time. The rooms were spotless and we had a fantastic balcony that looked over the bay. The villa is also 10mins walk from the centre of Hvar town..but far enough away not to be distubed....great choice for Hvar

"Great Spot"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Jordan W. of seattle, wa, United States
Reviewed:   June 25, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2009     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Great spot...great view...close to the water. much nicer than your average hostel, will definitely return!

"Good Location"

User Rating:  3.4
Reviewer:   Christal G. of Washington, DC, United States
Reviewed:   October 7, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Europeinstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Overall Villa Skansi is clean, well maintained and the location is great -- just a short walk from the heart of Hvar Town. Also it appears that the owners are fixing the place up, we saw work being done to tile and the pictures on this site are pretty accurate as to how the places looks. The walls are thin and you pretty much hear everything your neighbors have going on - though I suspect this is the same in other places.

My overall advice is unless you going during the very peak season do not book in advance! There are TONS of similar accommodation's available in Hvar Town...there is no need to book in advance and I would say that biggest issue my husband and I had with the Villa is that there is NOTHING identifying it -- no name on the building with the name Villa Skansi and the address is barely visible. Even if it was it would not matter since this site nor any information we received stated the exact address. Additionally the sign noting that it has rooms for rent (which many of the places have) is also not readily visible.

My husband and I drove around (& past the Villa) for almost 20 minutes attempting to find the place. Several very nice locals told us where the Villa was but again because of the poor signage we could not find it. (I will point out that we are both very good with directions.) Finally a very kind women jumped in our car and drove to the Villa with us...had she not done this we would have simply given up and went to around room for rent.

Just to be fair and clear we saw very few places with rooms for rent that were identified by a name -- most simply had a sign with rooms for rent --- so this may be come practice in Hvar Town but very frustrating given the fact that we had a reservation and could not find the Villa.


1 - 9 of 9 reviews




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us