Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  2.9
 Rooms  2.8
 Cleanliness  2.5
 Location  2.8
 Security & Safety  2.7
 Service & Staff  2.6
 Food / Dining  2.5
 Total  2.7

"dejadez, abandono y suciedad"

User Rating:  1.2
Reviewer:   Mas Mierda M. of barcelona, Spain
Reviewed:   December 19, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2015     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
penoso, sucio y lamentable

"Didn't stay"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   G S. of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   September 3, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2015     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
So I've been asked to provide a review for a place I didn't stay at for a reservation i had been trying to cancel since April - still waiting on a response! I better not be charged a no show fee! Hostel bookers were no help either when I advised them that I wS unable to get a response from west one - if it's an indication of what the hostel is like then I can only assume it's pretty bad!

"Scheiße ist sehr freundlich ausgedrückt....l."

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   A H. of --------, Germany
Reviewed:   August 3, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2015     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Wir haben verschissene Bettwanzen! Muss ich noch mehr sagen? Viel Spaß in Raum 10, villeicht könnt ihr euch auch noch ein paar mit nach Hause nehmen. Geputzt wird da sowieso nicht.

"Digrace of a booking"

User Rating:  1.3
Reviewer:   Eva P. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   July 19, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2015     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
After a long trip we arrived at the guest house and no one was there to open the door for us. Was trying to contact the owner for two hours whilst it was heavily raining and the cold was unbearable! There were no towels and no clean sheets as the booking was saying, the kitchen , room and bathroom were filthy and the staff nowhere to be seen! Will not recommend it to anyone!!! Waste of money.

"Very bad accommodation"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Roxana Mihaela S. of Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed:   July 14, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2015     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I was very bad imprest about my stay in this b&b.

"Verlängertes Wochenende in London"

User Rating:  1.2
Reviewer:   Hans-Otto W. of Tönisvorst, Germany
Reviewed:   June 26, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2015     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Ich kann nur jedem von dieser Unterkunft abraten. Die Zimmer, die Gemeinschaftsduschen und die Gemeinschaftsküche sind unbeschreiblich dreckig und versifft, dass man sich ekelt, irgendwas zu benutzen. Es gibt keine verantwortlichen Personen, die im Haus wohnen bzw. anwesend sind. Die Ankunft muß kurz vorher telefonisch angekündigt werden. Dann kommt jemand vorbei um abzukassieren und um die Schlüssel zu übergeben. Kurz darauf ist er auch schon wieder weg. Die Einrichtungen werden von allen Mietern genutzt und nicht sauber gehalten. Die Mülltonnen quellen über, das benutzte Geschirr türmt sich ungespült auf den Tischen. In der Nacht läuft der Fernseher mit voller Lautstärke in der Gemeinschaftsküche und schallt durchs ganze Haus. Die Bettwäsche und die Handtücher sind so schmutzig, dass sie bestimmt schon von 3 Vormietern benutzt worden sind. Die Wände der Schlafzimmer sind schwarz vor Schimmel und es riecht im ganzen Haus modrig. Einfach unvorstellbar eklig. Nie wieder!!

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Familie Weiß

"DO NOT STAY HERE!"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Ross K. of Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   June 16, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2015     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Worst place I've ever stayed in my life.

Prostitutes use this place to entertain clients.

Filthy.

Cash only, with no receipt for business use.

PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE, FOR YOU OWN GOOD!

"quite disappointed"

User Rating:  1.4
Reviewer:   Badam G. of Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   June 6, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2015     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
After paying 92£ per night this is what we got. The pictures shown here didn't match the rooms, rooms weren't cleaned, second floor lights weren't working first night, shower rooms were full of hair, kitchen smelled really bad and so on. But let me tell you something even interesting, it was 1.15am when the fire alarm went off. Everyone of us tried our best to contact the person we were given their numbers but none of them answered. So after 20 minutes we had to call fire brigade. They weren't able to find the switch to turn off the alarm. To make it short one of the tenant told me that these houses are rented our illegally as they don't pay tax but charge customer twice more.

"Bed bugs and awful staff"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Samantha C. of Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed:   June 6, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2015     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
One of the most horrible experiences we've ever endured. From the beginning... Despite following all instructions about arranging a check in time via email days in advance and also calling with notice of arrival from the airport we still had to wait a couple of hours for someone to arrive with keys which is confusing as we were later told a staff member resides at the property. Also while waiting outside with all of our luggage a friendly local and ex employee of the guest house suggested we run while we could and we should have but instead we figured these things happen and we're reasonable people after all. Turns out the same thing happened to every person we met there but still, the least of our concerns.

The property hasn't been very well maintained since the renovation depicted in the listing's photos but for the price and the facilities we were still happy at this point. Midway through our second night we began to be eaten alive by the bed bugs that had infested our mattress (still cannot believe the one and only time we were too lazy to check was the one time we should've)! On inspection we found the mattress was thoroughly invested and had been for some time judging by the copious amount of excrement and live and dead bugs present. Apparently the linen changers hasn't been doing checks either which is unfathomable in this kind of accommodation.

Credit to the staff member who answered their phone at 3am and to the people who didn't show up for their booking meaning their room was "clean" and unlocked. The staff member advised they'd be there first thing in the morning to figure out a solution. This was the last contact we received from the guest house. Nobody turned up. Nobody answered any of our six thousand calls and nobody responded to any emails. In our numerous emails I explained that we understand bed bugs happen, especially in budget accommodation frequented by backpackers and the like and that we had no intention of blasting them in reviews but it was also unfair to not even offer an apology, enter into a discussion about any refund or even direct us to the nearest laundromat where we would spend a small fortune washing and drying absolutely everything we owned. Not to mention the time and money arranging new accommodation on no notice. It's been a month with no communication.

The customer service and poor treatment we received is enough to make me scream but the worst part is how are they dealing with it so no one else has to go through this? Where we come from bed bugs are considered a public health concern and not only do you have to professionally exterminate but also inform local health authorities. The booking website suggested we read the reviews more thoroughly before our next booking and promised a small refund (equal to less than one night's fee) but they too have stopped responding to emails, no refund provided. It's a month later and our skin's still crawling, needless to say there's no way we'd go near this place again.

"Dreadful experience"

User Rating:  1.5
Reviewer:   Alexandra A. of Paris, France
Reviewed:   May 25, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2015     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
No one was there to welcome us. The "guesthouse" was completely different from the pictures we saw on the website. The bathrooms were really dirty, with hair and water everywhere.
The owner asked us (by text) to leave the money on our desk so that he can come and take it the next day. We didn't feel safe knowing that someone was going to come into our room, because we had our suitcases with our personal items in it.
The wifi was not working and obviously no one cared. On the 2nd night we learnt that the owner wasn't paying his electricity bills (there was a letter in the corridor saying the owner had to pay 4000£)
We were supposed to stay 4 nights but we actually left after 2 nights because we did not feel safe in this accommodation.


1 - 10 of 126 reviews  Next 10 results




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us