Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.5
 Rooms  4.2
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.6
 Security & Safety  4.6
 Service & Staff  4.6
 Food / Dining  4.2
 Total  4.5

"candles"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Unapologetic J. of brooklyn, United States
Reviewed:   May 3, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2015     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed at candles with my husband and three kids an I must say we had a pleasant stay. Mr. Leekit was very welcoming from the start. He picked us up from the airport an took us on a short tour of the beaches. He was very conversational an the kids had lots of room to run. I must definitely say I would stay at candles anytime.

"Very good basic lodging"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   John S. of NYC, United States
Reviewed:   April 8, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2015     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very nice stay. Well-run, clean and private. No unnecessary extras, but all essentials included.
Situated among several other comparable Hotels/Guest houses which are twice the price.

Well located - near ocean, sites, centrall to local neighborhood activities.

Thanks for the stay,
john

"Candles in the wind - a real pearl ."

User Rating:  3.6
Reviewer:   Helena C. of Karlstad, Sweden
Reviewed:   March 23, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2015     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The chummy hospitality along with the positive energy of the actual interior & its surroundings - an inner peace - makes me delighted to recommend "Candles" to anyone visiting Crown Point Tobago looking for a "home".

"Good Place for the Money"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Steve S. of Portland, United States
Reviewed:   March 22, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2015     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very nice place clean, owner was very helpful and nice guy. A bargain for the price. No problems at all, except the bar near the hotel was very loud all
nite on weekend. Still the owner has no control over that.

"Visit to Tobago"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Kathy D. of Brockville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed:   March 17, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2015     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Candles in the Wind is an good, very affordable accommodation. 5 minute walk to restaurants, 15 minute walk to Store Bay Beach. Great location. Owner is friendly and helpful. Room was clean and pleasant. Cool, shady upstairs verandah for reading and relaxing. Kitchen was well equipped. Owner picked us up and returned us to the airport. We had a good holiday.

"Great place to stay"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Rosaleen H. of Reading,Berkshire, England
Reviewed:   March 2, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2015     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I was a single traveller. I booked a double room with ensuite shower. I found Candles to be a good safe friendly place to stay. It is not luxurious but clean with decent facilities and good value for money. It is 5 minutes walk from a lovely beach with beach bar and near Pigeob Point and the airport. The owner , Andrew is keen to ensure everyone has a pleasant stay.

"Pleasant stay"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   SAM F. of Toronto Ont, Canada
Reviewed:   February 23, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2015     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I appreciated its proximity to Store bay and Pigeon Point and the airport and there were lots of eating places close by. Andrew was very nice.

"Candles Stay"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Austin O. of Brooklyn, NY, United States
Reviewed:   January 8, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Candles in the wind is a one story house located in a very nice neighborhood in Tobago. It's run by the owner, Andrew, who is the most pleasant host ever. He is very friendly and informative about the Island. He even made his famous Cow heel soup for us, on the house. The house and rooms are very clean and refreshing. Air conditioning and WiFi are provided and adequate and the price is very reasonable. I would definitely stay here again next time I visit Tobago.

"Excellent"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Corina U. of Jersey City, United States
Reviewed:   December 10, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Andrew, our host, was excellent! he was extremely helpful, pleasant and just made us feel so welcomed. Would definitely stay here next time.
The guesthouse is walking distance to everything. Very convenient location.

"Everything you need"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Michael K. of Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed:   December 5, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Andrew is always around and goes out of his way to make sure all guests have everything they need, giving his place a kind of family atmosphere. The rooms are simple but perfectly adequate and good value for money.
I felt comfortable and extended my stay.
The Crown Point area is small enough that everything is in easy walking distance but there are enough options for eating, drinking and beaches.


Previous 10 results  11 - 20 of 80 reviews  Next 10 results




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us