Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.5
 Rooms  3.6
 Cleanliness  4.2
 Location  4.2
 Security & Safety  4.3
 Service & Staff  3.9
 Food / Dining  3.3
 Total  3.9

"Clean and friendly"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   G G. of Pittsburgh, United States
Reviewed:   July 25, 2019  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2019     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Nice hotel and great value. Very friendly and helpful staff.

"Una de las peores experiencias que he tenido"

User Rating:  2.4
Reviewer:   Manuel G. of Mexico, Mexico
Reviewed:   March 27, 2019  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2019     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Voy a hablar un poco del servicio del hotel y después de las instalaciones. Nosotros llegamos al hotel a la 1:30am después de 2:30 de vuelo y de 45minutos en camión de Guatemala a Antigua. Logramos dormirnos a las 2:30 de la mañana y para las 7:00am el desayuno que ofrece el hotel a 5 pasos de nuestr habitación. Por supuesto, los otros huespedes tienen todo el derecho de disfrutar esas amenidades pero fue imposible descansar y nunca nos avisaron que pasaría afuera de nuestro cuarto. Salimos para avisar en el lobby nos pidieron una disculpa, desayunamos y nos regresamos a dormir, media hora despues el personal de ll hotel se dedicó a levantar todo lo del desayuno, guardar mesas, levantar platos, etc haciendo un escandalo peor que el de antes. En ese momento buscamos otro hotel y decidimos irnos. Teniamos 3 noches mas pagadas en el hotel, regresamos la ultima noche despues de haber hablado con varias personaa del hotel con la esperanza de que por lo menos reembolsaran las 2 noches que no usamos y no fue el caso. La noche que regresamos nos pusieron en una habitación un poco mejor pero el baño tenía moho en el techo. La primera habitación donde nos quedamos no cabín ni siquiera las 2 maletas que llevabamos de viaje.

"Pas un bon rapport qualité-prix"

User Rating:  2.9
Reviewer:   Carla P. of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Reviewed:   November 20, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2018     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Bien situé mais le WIFI est presque inexistant dans les chambres (donc très contraignant pour les voyageurs d'affaires). De plus, tu dois tout payer en cash avant d'y accéder (le petit déjeuner, le pressing, etc.). Car si on paye avec la carte c'est 6% de plus à chaque paiement et le concierge ne peut pas accepter les paiements de carte avant 8h du matin (donc tant pis pour toi si tu veux prendre ton pdj avant 8h...tu dois sortir de l'hôtel...).

"Mittelklassehotel"

User Rating:  2.4
Reviewer:   Ulrich G. of Worms, Germany
Reviewed:   February 22, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2018     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
ordentliches und freundliches Hotel

"Dissapointed"

User Rating:  2.5
Reviewer:   Tammy W. of Stratford Ont, Canada
Reviewed:   December 4, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2017     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Room and bathroom were really really small. Staff and food were good. Friends of ours stayed in hotels close by that were similar in price or less money with much better rooms. Disappointed with room and bathroom. Would not stay there again.

"Hotel Camelias Inn"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   John S. of Atlanta, United States
Reviewed:   November 30, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Great location. Although on a main street, all the rooms are interior and no noise is heard from the street. Most of the rooms are small with windows only opening to the interior. Very friendly and helpful staff, although some with limited English. Fair pricing for a moderate level hotel, although would have preferred if breakfast was included in the room price. Clean and a nice rooftop terrace. No smoking hotel.

"Lovely small hotel"

User Rating:  2.3
Reviewer:   Darren C. of San Salvador, El Salvador
Reviewed:   August 8, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2017     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Although the room was incredibly compact, with no safe available and a noisy ceiling fan, the gardens and terrace do make up for it tenfold. We had requested that very special romantic room no.25, but that request was ignored. With that room, or even a polite response, this review would be much more positive. Reception at check-in was friendly, but vanished in a puff of smoke from that moment on.
Do go for the delightful terrace and do opt for an upstairs room.

"Quiet Cozy Hotel with great views"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Amy A. of Raleigh, United States
Reviewed:   June 28, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My family and I stayed at Las Camelias Inn for 11 nights. It was very comfortable and quiet. Our room was upstairs, so we had direct access to the terrace. The view from the terrace was wonderful. We could easily see Fuego erupting and the other surrounding mountains.

This is a small, cozy hotel. We all felt very safe and well taken care of by the staff. We felt the hotel provided a great value for the cost.

My only complaint is that the room did not have enough space to store clothes, we had to keep them in our suitcases for the most part. Otherwise, we were very pleased with the accommodations.

"art, flowers, kindness, all-day coffee and water"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Nancy W. of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed:   January 28, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My friends and I loved staying at Hotel Las Camelias Inn. Nice rooms, comfortable beds,Guatemalan art on the walls, a courtyard and an upstairs terrace ... very charming! The hotel is quite central, but not on a noisy street. Short walk to the middle of town. The staff were very helpful - particularly Esmeralda and Christian at the front desk, who were most gracious about our Spanish, such as it was. I do have one suggestion for guests: ask to see a couple of rooms - there are differences (e.g. the first one I was assigned had no closet, but they were able to change it.) And if I went again I'd spend a little more and book the triple, on the second floor. It has three beds, and a big bathtub (!), and it's bright and close to the terrace -- where we saw peacocks one afternoon. I would definitely stay here again - in fact we ended up booking a third night. Happy trails!

"Great place in Antigua"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Janet V. of Cheltenham, Canada
Reviewed:   October 25, 2016  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2016     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I loved my stay at Las Camelias! So much that I went back again after my side trip to Lake Atitlan. Beautiful rooftop view of the Volcanos, beautiful friendly staff, clean, small, felt like home.


1 - 10 of 23 reviews  Next 10 results




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us