Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews] | [View ALL reviews]
 Value for Money  3.6
 Rooms  3.6
 Cleanliness  3.9
 Location  3.8
 Security & Safety  4.0
 Service & Staff  3.9
 Food / Dining  3.2
 Total  3.8

"Professional staff & clean, basic hotel:) Wonderful!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Lauren C. of Palo Alto CA, United States
Reviewed:   February 10, 2020  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2020     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My friend and I stayed for 3 nights at Hotel San Jorge. They arranged a ride from the airport at a very reasonable rate and also a shuttle to Lake Atitlan. Our room was very clean and had all the basics. Breakfast, which is separate, was both traditional American and traditional Guatemalan served on a lovely 2nd floor patio/courtyard or at tables in the enclosed garden. I highly recommend San Jorge to anyone wanting a very affordable hotel that is a 10 minute walk to the Arch. Close to tourist office. They will also mark up a map for you with some basic locations. I will return!

"Best location in Antigua for visitors!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Paul K. of south carolina, United States
Reviewed:   February 16, 2019  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2019     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Hotel San Jorge is a great hotel in a great location only a five minute walk to the Park. With the winter weather in the United States my flight to Guatemala was delayed twice but San Jorge was accommodating to moving my dates to the new dates. Friendly staff with 24 hour coffee and beautiful gardens.

"not going back"

User Rating:  3.2
Reviewer:   Yeraldy M. of houston TX, United States
Reviewed:   November 12, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2018     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The hotel was really nice with a beautiful garden. rooms were pleasant to stay in, hot water was nice. The problem I had was that when I made my reservation I clearly put that it was 2 adults, I got the results for the rooms available, picked the cheapest one as we were only sleeping there and didnt care for much more. I selected the room, put a $50 deposit, printed and reviewed all the reservation information and was very happy with where we were staying. I picked this place based on price and the pictures and nice reviews. When I arrived, they argued that I owed $15 U.S. dollars more per night because of the 2nd adult. They took advantage of the fact that I had made my reservation months in advanced, didn't have many options anymore, and they had already charged my deposit which they would not refund. I had the printed reservation where I showed them I had put 2 people and was never informed I'd be charged extra for the second person I had listed on the reservation. They did not care, nor were they able to show me where it said I'd owe more money upon showing up for my stay. after arguing for about an hour they "helped" by only charging me an additional $10/night. The place was nice but we did not have a pleasant stay due to the unpleasant welcoming. We were planning to enjoy the garden and have breakfast there every morning but after they took advantage of us for being from out of the country I no longer cared to give them any more of my business.

Also, our first morning we were woken up by loud employees laughing and being loud outside our room. They were joking and yelling at each other right outside our door and walking back and forth very loudly.

This place is not very far from the park and church (center of the town) but you will have to walk a few block at night if you need a convenience store or drinks, etc.

"San Jorge Hotel Antigua"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   Jocelyn C. of California, United States
Reviewed:   April 26, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Lovely inexpensive hotel.
Paid for my first night online with a credit card.
Had to pay the remainder when I got there in dollars or Guatemala Qs.
Did not realize that.
Later my card didn’t work in the ATMs so it got a bit stressful.

"Very good for the money"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   J.A. S. of Dallas, United States
Reviewed:   November 20, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Clean , comfortable and a very good value . I have stayed in this hotel many times. Every time I visit there are improvements .

"Friendly, Clean, and Comfortable"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Jack J. of Bainbridge Island, United States
Reviewed:   March 8, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I spent two nights here in February. The rooms are nice and the staff was very helpful. It also has a very pleasant garden space and a convenient location.

"Great place, very quiet for Guatemala"

User Rating:  3.4
Reviewer:   Darrius P. of TX, United States
Reviewed:   February 21, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2017     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Stayed with my daughter who is in the Peace Corps there. Love the hotel. Clean, quiet off the beaten path street, would stay here again

"Welcoming even in the middle of the night..."

User Rating:  3.3
Reviewer:   CATHERINE T. of Gatineau, Canada
Reviewed:   February 12, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It has a very nice garden, tea and coffee at all time!!!
There is a lot of change in the personal so when you arrive,you,re not so sure if the message you left for the day after has been understood, but at the end, it all works out!!!
It was a comfortable stay!

"St Jorge"

User Rating:  4.2
Reviewer:   Simon W. of london UK, England
Reviewed:   February 6, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Great place to stay. Great staff and friendly parot!

"Bonito lugar"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Ale G. of San jode, Costa Rica
Reviewed:   November 27, 2016  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2016     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Hotel lindo acogedor cerca del centro de Angigia dan te y café gratis sus jardines muy bien cuidados , habitaciones limpias . Lo recomiendo y volvería , justo precio x calidad


1 - 10 of 12 reviews  Next 2 results




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us