Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  2.4
 Rooms  2.3
 Cleanliness  2.1
 Location  3.4
 Security & Safety  2.5
 Service & Staff  2.1
 Food / Dining  2.5
 Total  2.5

"poor, leaking and dirty"

User Rating:  1.8
Reviewer:   M.I.M. V. of West-Terschelling, Netherlands
Reviewed:   December 19, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
There were no facilities in the room, apart from a bed with extremely soft matrass, and a small towel that was never replaced during our 4 day stay. Neither was the bedcloth.
In the common bathroom there were always about five wet towels on the floor, the toilet was filthy and the ceiling was leaking really fast when someone upstairs had a shower.
And during our stay there was no cleaning at all. From the way the room looked, we guessed there hadn't been a lot of cleaning in advance. And when we dropped something on the ground so that we had to look under the bed there was so much dirt it made us feel sick.
The price is low, compared to other London hotels, and we survived. But it's a no go for us in the future.

"it is budget indeed"

User Rating:  2.6
Reviewer:   Frans P. of Den Haag, Netherlands
Reviewed:   December 16, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
room looks nicely decorated and reasonably clean. No TV! Windows not cleaned for years. Very noisy due to single pane windows and busy street, take ear plugs! management is not responsive at all at emails. Was sent to wrong address first. Bathroom was filthy, also due to other guests using it, but request to provide toilet paper and cleaning was never responded to. Dog shit around at terrace! Plus; close to Kings Cross. I stay regulary at B&Bs in central London for same price but much better service and cleanness.

"Hostel"

User Rating:  2.7
Reviewer:   Molinie E. of Paris, France
Reviewed:   December 14, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Good location of apartment in London. The staff is friendly but the room and bathroom are dirty.

"Very bad staff"

User Rating:  2.7
Reviewer:   Ainara M. of Mutilva, Spain
Reviewed:   December 9, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Waiting one hour on the street to do the check-in. Bathroom very dirty. Window broken so it was freezing and de asked to change the room. Ver y good located.

"king's cross road , london"

User Rating:  1.8
Reviewer:   Giorgio C. of turin, Italy
Reviewed:   December 5, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2014     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Dirty, floaded, unexpected

"Kings Cross Guest House"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Csaba T. of Deszk, Hungary
Reviewed:   December 2, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2014     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Good accesibility, good price/value ratio

"this is a review of one of their sites."

User Rating:  3.5
Reviewer:   Mary W. of paris, France
Reviewed:   November 30, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We ( two seniors) stayed in the house at 10 Swinton Street. This group has many sites, which is not evident from the listings. We wanted to be near St Pancras, and, luckily, we were.
The locations was good, the wifi worked. We were on room 6.There was no source of heating in the room. Building and bathrooms were clean.
Only one outlet was available for client use. Another was complete blocked by an unmovable bed. I suggested, after returning, that the bed could be moved slightly, and some hooks put up for hanging clothes - both would make the clients more comfortable.

Communicating with KCG on arrival was difficult as the telephone number we were given was not answered and the voicemail box was full. Luckily another tenant of the building came along and gave us a number that worked. After that everything went smoothly. For two nights it was an acceptable accomodation.

"Great location, for non-fussy people"

User Rating:  3.4
Reviewer:   Tamalee H. of Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed:   November 26, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Hostel was in a great location. But the facilities definitely need some work. The bathroom is in need of a makeover and the whole place could use a coat of paint. But the shower was hot and the bed was comfy which is really all you need when travelling as you don't really spend much time in your bedroom. But the location was definitely the best. A bit overpriced but that seems to be the norm for London.

"Smell and stains"

User Rating:  1.3
Reviewer:   Suzanne L. of West Hartford, United States
Reviewed:   November 25, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2014     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Although the bedding appeared clean, the room was unacceptable. There was a very strong unpleasant smell that did not dissipate with time. The rug and the couch were stained. One window had bedding stuffed in the top of it as it appeared that it did not close (we chose not to investigate too closely). The room was very loud. We had stayed in a similarly priced room around the corner a week before and although it was tiny, it was clean, it was quiet, and there was someone at the front desk who was polite and helpful. We would have stayed there again but it was full. We actually moved out of the Kings Cross room on Saturday night and payed for a room in another hotel as we didn't want to spend another night there. Overpriced and disgusting. Our 20 year old daughter has been traveling all over Europe in hostels and said that this was "the grossest room" she has been in and the "worst night because of the smell". The housekeeper was polite.

"Swinton Street, with Kings Cross"

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   Gyöngyi B. of Borås, Sweden
Reviewed:   November 19, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2014     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Jag och min väninna älskade stället! Det låg väldigt bra till tunnelbanestationen Kings Cross. Rummet var bra, duschen likaså. Bra smart att ha det utanför rummet faktiskt. Det enda vi saknade var något skåp eller så för att hänga våra kläder. Lite för dyrt kan man tycka, men min upplevelse är att boende och resor är dyra i London. Men om jag skulle dit någon mer gång då skulle jag vilja ha samma ställe och samma rum igen!!! Mat ingick inte och nycklar hämtade min dotter dagen innan.


Previous 10 results  11 - 20 of 81 reviews  Next 10 results




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us