Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews] | [View ALL reviews]
 Value for Money  2.4
 Rooms  2.3
 Cleanliness  2.1
 Location  3.4
 Security & Safety  2.5
 Service & Staff  2.1
 Food / Dining  2.5
 Total  2.5

"not bad but not that good either"

User Rating:  2.2
Reviewer:   Michelle R. of gozo, Malta
Reviewed:   January 10, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Hotel address is not the one stated on the website, hotel is at swinton street. Room very dirrty, hairs in bed and on the floor and window edges havent been cleaned in ages full of brown dirt . If you want room service and fresh towels everyday you have tou pay an extra 8 pounds each day you are staying. Door lock was faulty and did not want to open then after some 5 minutes playing with the key in the lock it would open. The rest everything was good.

"sejour a kings cross road"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Aicha H. of NANTERRE, France
Reviewed:   January 7, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Je vais tous d'abord parler du service : quand nous sommes arrivées nous avons envoyé un mail avec notre horaire d'arrivée (à 9h00). Arrivées sur place personne ! Nous avons essayé de joindre à plusieurs reprises notre contact, nous avons tenté plusieurs appels sans réponses et nous avons laissé plusieurs messages sur le répondeur, mais personne nous a rappelé. Puis nous avons essayé de joindre le 2eme numéro de téléphone qui figurai dans notre confirmation de mail, mais celui-ci était erronée ( un chiffre supplémentaire s’est greffé au numéro).Notre contact a fini par nous répondre au téléphone à 15h.... Parlons maintenant de la chambre qui n’est pas du tout représentative de la photo qui est postée sur le site. Elle est très simple, blanche pas très propre avec pleins de taches sur le canapé, abat-jour, les coussins et le frigo dégageait une odeur horrible lorsque l’on ouvrait sa porte. L’odeur de la chambre n'en parlons pas, à croire que personne n'y a séjourné depuis des mois, elle sentait le refermé qui venait d'être aérée pour notre arrivée, la preuve la fenêtre de la chambre était bloquée, elle ne se fermait pas, et notre contact ne le savait même pas, il nous a dit qu'il allait repasser pour réparer ça et nous ne l'avons pas revue de la semaine! Donc dormir dans une chambre la fenêtre ouverte pendant 1 semaine en plein mois de décembre...je vous laisse imaginer notre calvaire concernant la qualité de notre sommeil. Question qualité, parlons des matelas : les ressorts du matelas sont visibles à œil nu. Alors à ceux qui ont le dos fragile, fuyez !!!! Il manquait 2 choses principales : un miroir et un sèche-cheveux (qui était bien présent mais dont la tête est américaine et non anglaise. C’est trop demandé un sèche-cheveux avec la bonne prise alors que nous sommes à Londres et non à New York). Concernant la SDB, 2 à dispositions, la 1ere n'avait pas de puissance de jet d'eau dans la douche et le lavabo était bouché, et la 2eme il n'y avait pas de porte à la douche donc l'eau tombait par terre, il n'y avait pas de sortie de bain, et pas d’eau chaude dans le lavabo. Concernant le papier toilette il fallait apporter le sien et le ranger dans sa chambre afin de ne pas se retrouver en manque car il y en avait jamais et le renouvellement n’était pas une priorité. En séjournant une semaine, il n’a pas été jugé utile de nous transmettre de nouvelles serviettes de bain, ni même de changer les draps.
Donc, je dirais que dans l’ensemble nous n’avons pas du tout été satisfaites du rapport qualité/prix de cette chambre, de plus que cela faisait même pas 2 min que nous étions arrivées qu’on nous demandait de payer la totalité de la chambre!!!!
L'emplacement était le seul et l'unique point positif, car il était à 5 min de la gare qui est desservie par 4 lignes de métro. Il y a des restaurants dans les alentours et un supermarché pas loin également.

"Bad service"

User Rating:  2.1
Reviewer:   Christina B. of Höör, Sweden
Reviewed:   January 6, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
No answer when we sent e-mail or answered the phone at any of the numbers that were given. Had to call many times before any answered. When somebody did answer we were told the room would be ready at 2 pm. We were at the adress King Cross Road 2pm, but no one else were there. After a while a man opened the door. He Looked surprised and asked of we had called and anounced our arrival. Anyway of we went to another adress. I think he were clearing the room and made the beds when we were waiting in the stairs. The bathroom was not clean. The fridge was dirty. The full eqiped kitchen had some plastic knifes, dirty plates and glases. I think the kitchen itself were colder than the fridge. When it rained we there were water pouring in and some of our lugage got soaked. we had linnen that were written on and the floor were dirty. Me and husband and three friends will never stay herr again. The best thing were the lokation near the station.

"A very disappointing experience in this GuestHouse"

User Rating:  1.3
Reviewer:   Jean-Marc M. of ORSAY, France
Reviewed:   December 26, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The appartment was not ready when arriving, room still to be cleaned and second bed to be set in place (one blanket missing). Door lock out of order, sink blocked, lights without bulbs, curtains twice too long lying on the floor... Appartment not clean, and noisy: Window glasses very thin letting streeting noise enter all night long. In addition, upper neighbours started making noise in the building as from 5:00 am... We then left after first night(mare).

"poor, leaking and dirty"

User Rating:  1.8
Reviewer:   M.I.M. V. of West-Terschelling, Netherlands
Reviewed:   December 19, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
There were no facilities in the room, apart from a bed with extremely soft matrass, and a small towel that was never replaced during our 4 day stay. Neither was the bedcloth.
In the common bathroom there were always about five wet towels on the floor, the toilet was filthy and the ceiling was leaking really fast when someone upstairs had a shower.
And during our stay there was no cleaning at all. From the way the room looked, we guessed there hadn't been a lot of cleaning in advance. And when we dropped something on the ground so that we had to look under the bed there was so much dirt it made us feel sick.
The price is low, compared to other London hotels, and we survived. But it's a no go for us in the future.

"king's cross road , london"

User Rating:  1.8
Reviewer:   Giorgio C. of turin, Italy
Reviewed:   December 5, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2014     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Dirty, floaded, unexpected

"Smell and stains"

User Rating:  1.3
Reviewer:   Suzanne L. of West Hartford, United States
Reviewed:   November 25, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2014     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Although the bedding appeared clean, the room was unacceptable. There was a very strong unpleasant smell that did not dissipate with time. The rug and the couch were stained. One window had bedding stuffed in the top of it as it appeared that it did not close (we chose not to investigate too closely). The room was very loud. We had stayed in a similarly priced room around the corner a week before and although it was tiny, it was clean, it was quiet, and there was someone at the front desk who was polite and helpful. We would have stayed there again but it was full. We actually moved out of the Kings Cross room on Saturday night and payed for a room in another hotel as we didn't want to spend another night there. Overpriced and disgusting. Our 20 year old daughter has been traveling all over Europe in hostels and said that this was "the grossest room" she has been in and the "worst night because of the smell". The housekeeper was polite.

"Estancia en King Cross Roud"

User Rating:  2.4
Reviewer:   NATIVIDAD F. of CANTABRIA., Spain
Reviewed:   November 19, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
El apartamento estaba sucio y no tenía productos de limpieza. La calefacción no se encendió en ningun momento.

"A dump"

User Rating:  1.4
Reviewer:   Sara R. of brescia, Italy
Reviewed:   November 11, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2014     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
In ten years of travel, I have never had a place like this, a dump!
Room for four somewhat run-down, dirty towels and broken toilet, two beds: one double and one king size. In one of them, there were bed bugs live.this insects are blood-sucking parasites. when we contacted the owner, he said that he could not come and that he thought were bugs coming through the window. he suggested us to go down stairs, take the clean laundry and change our sheets. ..what a surprise, we found a dirty pair of boxers under the mattress. The next day, of course, the parasites were still there, and he has not done anything even though numerous calls from us. Unacceptable! If I could post all the photos I took, I would do with pleasure. they also have removed the guesthouse from tripadvisor, so I cant show you anything.

"Don't go there"

User Rating:  1.3
Reviewer:   Carbone L. of brussels, Belgium
Reviewed:   November 2, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2014     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Insalubre, draps sales et troués, carreaux cassées, salle de bain sale, toiles d'araignées, pas de papier WC, des trous au sol, lits minuscule. On entendait les voisins parler, prendre leur douche et même utiliser les wc. Chauffage ne fonctionne pas, bref une déception totale. Nous avons payé pour rien , nous avons préféré en partir....


1 - 10 of 43 reviews  Next 10 results




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us