Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.4
 Rooms  4.2
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.1
 Security & Safety  4.3
 Service & Staff  4.5
 Food / Dining  4.0
 Total  4.3

"Horrible night of my life."

User Rating:  2.1
Reviewer:   Alvita S. of Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed:   July 5, 2019  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2019     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I checked review on Agoda and paid certain amount on a guest house. I thought it gonna be a simple night. Turn out not.
I arrived around 7pm or so, the alley so dark, and the location I had from Agoda located me to another random stranger house. My grab driver helped me to go around and asked the exact place of Rai Guest House which located houses away from the map location. Then I went to check in counter only to find the guy said "we are overbooked. We don't have any room left for you. Do you want to stay somewhere else?" The thought of staying in a random house quite shocked me, and he called here and there (to confirm why the system overbooked? or to find another property for me). He named a place and ask me that place should be better and nearer to the harbour (where I'm gonna take early ferry to Nusa Penida). I checked on the internet and turn out it looked ok. He also offered to take me to the property to check. Then I went with him, only to find most of place are sold out too. He then looked at me, with a guilty look and say "We are very sorry"

My question was "then where I should sleep tonight?" :((((

I almost cried that night, and he suddenly said "Ok2, we go back to the guest house first"

and IDK whose room he sold to me, and he managed to prepare a room to me. I asked if it is ok coz someone gonna be like me next. and he said "oh that's ok. actually my kids are staying. I will send them home."


My next question, I only ask myself "what if I don't cry? will I sleep in the street tonight?"

My point is, how come you actually have rooms and let your child stay in house. I booked it, hei and I paid money. I remembered they offered to refund the money but that's not what I deserve.

The room they gave me have a moldy smell. I can't sleep but can't complain or else this time I would really ended up in the street.

"Nice place"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Sabina B. of Denmark, Denmark
Reviewed:   April 26, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It was just a verry Nice place. With a Warm family hospitaliti

"Rai House Sanur"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Tereda L. of San Diego, United States
Reviewed:   February 6, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2018     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I can’t say enough positive things about Mr. Rai and his family stay in Sanur. It was an incredibly comfortable stay, the family was amazing, their dog Jerry is a gem and I will stay there again!!!!

"Rai House Sanur"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Anton O. of Alameda, California, United States
Reviewed:   December 21, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Stayed 3 nights in December. Great and very friendly place! Very clean big rooms, very quiet. 15 min walk to the beach, KFC 5 min walk. Close to all attractions. Very good breakfast. Room was cleaned daily. Will stay again!

"Great place to stay excellent value"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   NANQI Y. of WALLA WALLA, United States
Reviewed:   December 19, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Clean large air conditioned rooms. Good simple breakfast: nasi goreng, banana pancake, sandwiches (more like an omelette), and eggs with toasts, plus tea or coffee (No refills). WIFI doesn't work well on the second floor rooms. The pool is a little green and murky. These are just for future travellers as references. The guest house is very good in general and great value for a couple. We paid $17 per night which includes breakfast for 2. Ask about monthly rate if you are staying longer. Night market is 20 min rough walk (maybe about half a mile). Great cheap local food. Must try: Mak Bang restaurant and a little Roti bread stand steps away. This Roti stands makes the Indonesian version of a bread desert including tiramisu. Beaches, KFC, and massages are also within walking distance.

"Charming place"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Peter M. of Mandeville, LA, United States
Reviewed:   December 12, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This place was an amazing value. Extremely laid back and inexpensive. The staff were simply sweet, attentive people. The location was tucked away and felt very private, yet not very far from the action.

"Very nice hostel"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Camila S. of Lo Barnechea, Chile
Reviewed:   November 20, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Friendly staff, clean, nice garden and best of all they refill your water bottles at no extra charge so you don't have to buy new plastic bottles all the time

"Really nice place!"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Maria Teresa A. of Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed:   April 16, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2017     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Quiet, clean and very nice small guest house. Ow ers are charming. Do all they can to help & make your stay pleasant!

"Quiet hotel in Sanur"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Linda H. of Broome WA, Australia
Reviewed:   March 9, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2017     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This hotel was exactly what we were after. Quiet, beautiful and the owner & staff was lovely. We got help to book a beautiful private tour up to Ubud to see a waterfall, temple and rice fields. The room was specious and clean. The only thing we missed was a little fridge to keep our water cool. This hotel is located about 20 min (walk) from the Main Street with the night markers and restaurants. Thank you Rai and your family for looking after us so well.

"Wonderful place and service"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Nienke U. of Amsterdam, Netherlands
Reviewed:   February 27, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2017     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We stayed the last two days of our Indonesia trip in Rai House in Sanur. It was a lovely experience, mainly because of the great hosts and the homely atmosphere. Our room was nicely situated with a view to the pool and breakfast area, some other downstairs rooms had a window to the corridor only, so you do have to be lucky. This is the perfect hotel if you are using it as a base for lots of exploring or as a first or last stop near to the airport. It is located a short walk from Sanur beach and a bit further away from the touristic town centre. The rooms are very clean, breakfast is nice and service is great. We were allowed a very late check out, because our flight was at mid-night. We were ofcourse lucky that the room was not booked, but it was a wonderful gesture. Thank you Rai House, for making us feel so welcome.


1 - 10 of 25 reviews  Next 10 results




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us